It all worked out better than I hoped. #Life #Weekend


The weekend started with a Memorial service that was far better than I had hoped. And a reception that had some unexpected benefits. Saturday I traveled for a family game day that was definitely more fun than I thought it might be. Sunday I had a long walk with the Pokemon, followed by a day of shopping and walking with Kim. At the end I was tired, but in a far better place emotionally than I was pretty much all last week.

The memorial service was very fitting for the person whose life was being celebrated. There was music. There were many funny stories and observations. So there was laughter, and selfies and more music. There were some sad moments and crying, but not so much that it made the affair overly grim. Instead, we all gathered with the purpose of celebrating an awesome person’s life, and that is what we did.

Afterward, we went to the reception at her favorite restaurant and bar. We spent most of the time catching up with old friends that we had not seen in quite some time. During one of those conversations, I came up with a bright idea. Two of the boys there were kids we had known for many years. And it came to me that they might want to join my D&D game. So I invited them while I was at the reception and followed up the next day. This will have the benefit of improving my game. And since one of the boys is the son of the woman who was killed it will be helpful for that family as well.

Saturday I took the boys and Mom up to Denver for a game day hosted by my brother’s brother in law. Apparently, this group gathers together once a month at someone’s house for an afternoon of games. I was a little nervous, to be honest, I was not certain that I would be able to get into the games, and how the boys would behave. But it went very well. I learned how to play a new game, and did pretty well at it. I won a game of Settlers of Catan. And the boys were very good and had a great time. And now we are hosting the next such event, which will be combined with Mom’s birthday party at the beginning of September.

Sunday morning I got up and took a long walk, for some Pokemon hunting. It was part of my overall plan to get out more. I used to set aside Sunday mornings for my long runs, so I figured it would be good to do the same with some Pokemon hunting. That was nice, if tiring. Little would I know what was in store.

Sunday ended up being the store walking day. We went grocery shopping to get things started. Then after we got that done it was off for school supply shopping. That was a couple of stores worth of shopping. We then topped that off with some looking at a couple of stores for items that we can use in our plans to remodel the basement. At the end of it all, I ended up with over 8 miles of walking! My feet were very sore, but I still felt very good about it. All of that was topped off by getting to spend pretty much the entire day with Kim, which I felt that we needed.

When we got home we played some games with just the family. That was a fun change of pace from our normal ritual of sitting in front of the TV.

At the end of it all, it was a very satisfying and fun weekend. I had some closure for my friend. Plenty of good game times. And we managed to get a lot of constructive things done as far as planning and school shopping. All in all, the kind of weekend that I really needed.

Leave a Reply

