Celebrating & surviving a family weekend #Life #Mentalhealth


Late Saturday I was thinking back a couple of years. Thinking about a Cub Scout campout a few years ago when I was mentally at my worst. It was a really chaotic time in our lives and I was remarking how difficult that was for me. A weekend like this made that easy to look back on because I am far more at peace with myself and my life now than I was then.

IMG_3055.JPG

That is me now. Physically I may not be as fit as I was that summer. When we spent Fathers day in Disneyland. And of course, we are all older. But I am much happier. Yesterday we were all tired and a little grouchy. And it was really freaking hot (local record high for the date.) Despite all of that I had a good time doing what we did. And most importantly far more relaxed. I did not have any episodes where I found myself gritting my teeth in frustration.

Yesterday we were all tired and a little grouchy. And it was really freaking hot (local record high for the date.) Despite all of that I had a good time doing what we did. And most importantly far more relaxed. I did not have any episodes where I found myself gritting my teeth in frustration.

The reason we were so tired was because we all had a really big day on Saturday. We all got up early, earlier than we would have liked. Got ourselves ready for the day. Then went and helped load some large, heavy objects into a moving truck for my sister and brother in law. We then left Jimmy and his buddy to finish the job of loading the truck, while the rest of us went to an amusement park for the day.

It was Girl Scout Weekend at Elitch Gardens, so we went up there for the day. My original thinking was I was going to be rolling with Danny while we took it all real casual.

IMG_9171.JPG

Things did not turn out that way. I did some stuff with Danny. And we all hung out and did some things as a family. But I found myself spending most of my time with Emily, as she wanted me to take her on one pretty intense ride, and in general wanted her Dada around. There was a time when that would have driven me up one wall and down the other. But it was okay this time. She knew that I could not ride certain rides (stupid vertigo) and in general was okay when I did not do other things. And Danny still had a good time with Kim. It was nice to split the two up occasionally.

IMG_9174.JPG

I’m not gonna lie. I was pretty wiped out at the end of the day. So it was nice to sit and relax and enjoy a concert. We were actually surprised by the concert, we did not really know who the artist was until Emily identified her. Turns out the artist, Rachel Platten, sings two songs that Kim really likes, and the kids like her as well. So the kids had a really good time walking up and getting in with the crowd in front of the stage. While Kim and I were able to relax in our seats and just enjoy the music.

Sunday was low key. I did not try and do anything real extravagant for Fathers Day. Kim made a good breakfast. We then all had a nice lunch. And then wandered around the mall, before going to see a movie. After the movie, we went out for ice cream, dropped Danny off for a sleepover, and then went home.

I then was able to cap off the day with a great episode of Game of Thrones. Then watched the fourth quarter of Game 7 of the NBA Finals. It was a great evening to cap off a nice day. In spite of the record heat.

All in all, it was a good weekend. I had some fun times. Some cool experiences. Some good food. Helped out some family. And had a good time doing all of it, and am able to look back and say that was fun, instead of remembering the stress and headaches. I am happy with all of that, and content.

Leave a Reply

