A voice from the blue, and a smile to my face #Friends #Mentalhealth #Health


This has not been an easy week. The kids have so much going on. Every night there is an activity. Kim is working a different schedule. And I have been fighting this bug that just hangs on.

Then yesterday afternoon, out of the blue, I got a text from an old friend. I replied via e-mail, and then followed that up with a phone call. And it was great to catch up, even if it was only a little bit. As I have said before, I hate losing touch with people, it really bugs me. And then he said that he is thinking of starting up a once a month game in a little while and did I want to join. Hell yes was my response (of course.) Which means I will get an opportunity to see some of the other old friends on a regular basis again, which really put a hop in my step.

And I need that because this cough is really bringing me down. Spending the mornings hacking up phlegm is not even as fun as it sounds. It is doubly worse for me because I have neck problems and all this coughing just aggravates them. So I get a sore throat and stiff neck.

To compound things we made a difficult parenting decision this week. And it is really beginning to be felt, which makes life around the house really hard. Because the only thing more annoying than a rowdy teenager who wants to wrestle all the time is a sullen, angry teenager.

But there is light at the end of the tunnel. Tonight we have the Scout crossover for Danny; which is event number 3 for the week. And tomorrow night is actually an open night, other than practice for Jimmy. And we are just a couple of days away from total freedom from kids extracurricular activities.

In the meantime, I just have to try to get sleep. Focus on doing what I can do. Not let my attention get shifted to things that I don’t have time for, or are beyond my control. Take as much care as I can of my physical well being. Remind myself that all of this will pass.

So, it was in the midst of all this that I got that bolt from the blue yesterday. Which you can imagine was a huge help to my psyche. I have that extra thing to  look forward to. Just one more thing that will help me get through this week and all this current angst and disaster.

 

Leave a Reply

