For those of you who wonder #Guncontrol #Politics


I do my best to not get wrapped up in politics, and things I cannot control. I know it is a recipe for problems for me, given my depressive ocd personality. As a result I have done my best to minimize my rants, and political posts. And resisted arguments online. But this week triggered something in me (pun intended.)

And in the interests of full disclosure I thought I should explain why gun control is my big issue. So here it is.

  1. I have had 3 friends and acquaintances kill themselves, using guns. I have not dug deep into the details of these events out of respect for survivors. But what I do know, is that if they did not have that firearm in the house, maybe they are still alive. I know this because I have some idea of what they were feeling, and ready access combined with dark thoughts is a terrible combination.
  2. I have a friend in prison because of that terrible combination. He made a horrible, deadly decision. And had he not had easy access to that gun, maybe a child would still be alive today.
  3. I have 3 young children (well not so young, one is a teenager.) And while some people get more conservative when they have kids I went the other way. I became instantly more concerned about the world around me when I had kids. Issues like safety mean much more to me now than they once did. And I do not think any child should have to grow up in a world where they have to look over their shoulder wherever they go, and practice active shooter drills at school. I was in that sweet spot when I just avoided duck and cover drills at school, but I do remember the bomb alarms getting tested in my town every week. And I can tell you that growing up in fear sucks.
  4. Last, I think this is a simple matter of logic. If you look at the issue logically, society’s safety should be more important than individual freedom.

There you have it. And I will no longer remain silent on this subject. And anyone who does not care to hear about it can cease following me, unfollow me on Twitter, unfriend me on Facebook, that is your choice.

Two more important points to bring up that occurred to me last night.

First, Gun Control what does it mean? Guess what, this does not mean that the government is coming to take away your guns. It does not mean you cannot own a gun, unless you are a convicted felon, domestic abuser, mentally ill. If you have a clean background, and present no danger to yourself or the public at large, you can have your gun. Please get that through your heads, Gun Control advocates are not going to take your guns away!

Second, I keep reading and hearing that these killers (which is what they are, they are not ‘shooters’ they are killers or murderers) bought their guns and other items legally. What does this matter? If I get drunk and kill someone with my car I bought that car and booze legally, it doesn’t make what I did any less horrific. All it really does it highlight the problem with the gun laws in this country.

Third point (yeah I said two, but I have to mention this.) If the San Bernadino killers ended up doing this for political reasons that doesn’t change the gun issue. In fact it just highlights the problem. That being on the terror watch list does not mean you cannot pass a background check in this country. The background check system and all of it’s loopholes are as bad as the tax codes. Clean it up, make it national, remove the loopholes, and then everyone who worries about terrorism will have a leg to stand on.

Leave a Reply

